Antenna Guru

RF is not 'black magic' – It's Synthesis, Optimization, Analysis and Realization.

IIABDFI

dishwasher disassembly for repair/replacement ...

dishwasher disassembly for repair/replacement of chopper (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

About eight years ago I bought a KitchenAid dishwasher. I had had good experience with them over the past quarter century or so, and I didn’t even think about a different brand. Today, I am very impressed with this latest model, but it did not start out that way, the way I had expected.

From the time I first brought it home, it never cleaned the dishes like I thought it was supposed to. It would leave soap in the dispenser if I didn’t arrange the dishes just right. Coffee grounds would stay in the bottoms of the tall cups I like to use if I left the dirty cup on the counter all day before rinsing it out like I like to do. So even though they were just little nagging issues, I was not happy with the appliance.

Right after I bought the thing I had called a repair guy and asked him to check it out. He came out, ran it through a cycle, made some perfunctory tests, and said, “Well, your water’s not hot enough, and you’re not using the recommended detergent. That’ll be eighty-nine bucks.”

I figured they’d sold out, cheapened the product; I figured the new ones weren’t as good anymore. But it still worked. So, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, right?

About a month ago we had a thunder storm come through that knocked out the power in such a way that the lights went off and on several times and dimmed and so on. The dishwasher had been running at the time, and the storm fried it — The blue LED’s would sort of dimly light on the control panel, but the buttons didn’t work. So, I ordered a control board. That didn’t fix it, so I sent it back and ordered a control panel. The new control panel let me turn the dishwasher on and cycle it, but it didn’t clean the dishes at all.

“Time for a new dishwasher,” I thought. “At least I can send back the panel, too.”

But being a little short of cash right now, my wife talked me into trying some more to fix the (eight year old) one we had. So I puzzled and I thought. I probed and I Googled. I went through that entire dishwasher, cleaning all the strainers and inspecting all the wash arms. Reluctantly, I ordered a circulation pump assembly. I wasn’t hopeful that this would fix it, because when the dishwasher cycled water sprayed… sort of. But I had looked at everything else.

The circulation pump arrived and I replaced it with the help of an online video and Debi’s thoughtful suggestions. (Her suggestions really helped: She studied the video, too, and saw important details that I had missed. Plus, she had encouraged me to press on instead of giving up in the first place.) When we started it up Debi said, “It seems louder to me,” and that was because…

The dishwasher now cleans better than it ever has in the last eight years!

There’s a metaphor in there somewhere, certainly.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Social Behavioral Patterns--How to Understand Culture and Behaviors

Understanding behaviors, examining culture, adapting to change, and empowering relationships

Being Rebekah

A journey towards excellence for Christ

TexasReadyBlog

Survival Gardening for the 21st Century

Kimberly A. Vogel

Building bridges | Connecting families | Through LOVE

Tommy Lasorda's World

I've told thousands of baseball stories, and I've got a lot more to share with you. Please join me all year to talk some baseball here on my official MLBlog.

celtic straits

bradstrait.com -- real life stories from a christian mystic

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

One Movie, Our Views

www.onemovieourviews.com - Movie Reviews & More

Earthpages.ca

Think Free

A Business Guy's Guise

I gave up everything only to see that everything would always be right here

Gentlemen of Sport

Analysis of sports, culture, women, & life. We are curious college students & this is the world through our eyes.

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

