Antenna Guru

RF is not 'black magic' – It's Synthesis, Optimization, Analysis and Realization.

Self-made Man

Self-made men are the men who, under peculiar difficulties and without the ordinary helps of favoring circumstances, have attained knowledge, usefulness, power and position and have learned from themselves the best uses to which life can be put in this world, and in the exercises of these uses to build up worthy character. They are the men who owe little or nothing to birth, relationship, friendly surroundings; to wealth inherited or to early approved means of education; who are what they are, without the aid of any favoring conditions by which other men usually rise in the world and achieve great results.

Frederick Douglass

I’ve been struggling to make it lately– economically, intellectually, emotionally, …as a man. In particular, I’ve been struggling to actualize an antenna concept that may be great, or just pretty good, or possibly…

It’s just plain crazy.

To find out which it is, it would have to be built. I wasn’t confident where and how to tune it, so I designed extra flexibility into the components. Trouble followed. The toolmaker took plenty of his time and my money to produce parts that didn’t work all that well. This was partly my fault, because I let him source some of the materials and parts that should have been flat were not. I ruined the first one trying to get it to work, and sample two was ugly and its performance marginal. So the results were ‘mixed’.

I could give up or I would have to build more prototypes.

The only tools I had to machine the prototypes were my six inch Craftsman Mk 1 Lathe, my beloved Bosch jigsaw, a Dremel tool, a Palmgren vise and an assortment of files and other hand and power tools.

The antenna body itself is 6 inches in diameter, so in order to mount the Nylon® blank for turning, I would have to cut it close. I learned that Nylon® cuts like the Tar Baby. It strongly tends to melt and wrap itself all up in the cutting tool and then it takes forever to get the tool back out of the work again. I gently triggered the saw until the blade just barely ran and sprayed coolant on the work and the blade every minute or so. Twenty minutes seems like forever to cut a six-inch circle when you’re used to working wood.

Turning Nylon® on the lathe creates bird’s nests of fishing line which will wrap everything that should rotate with everything that shouldn’t. I spent most of the time with the lathe turned off, pulling off scrap before it could foul up the work.

Two prototype bodies took as many days, but when assembled and tested the results looked encouraging. Now I had to build the feed networks. I’ve hand-cut microstrip many times before (maybe I should post instructions?) but have always had a milling machine to build the housings. Having no milling machine I had to fall back on the Palmgren, the Dremel and files.

Starting with a piece of half-inch brass rod, I was able to hack out one housing in six hours. Six hours working on a piece of brass a half-inch in diameter and an inch-and-a-half long. Six hours in the garage in June in Houston. Six hours of wondering, as the Dremel cooled off, whether I was going to finish the piece or slip and ruin it, or hurt myself, or burn out the tool. I made it after six hours.

I needed another housing, but decided to wait until Monday. Why put in all that work unless I knew the first third prototype would fly? That, and a recent acquaintance was coming over Friday afternoon to show me his Four Wheel Camper and talk about couch design. We messed around in the driveway, fixed a few minor things in his camper and talked about how to build a camper couch. Six O’clock rolled around and I had to go. Rob (my new friend) asked about the brass housing I showed him. Seems he had another friend with a machine shop and Rob was trained as a machinist. I cut him off a hunk of brass and wrapped it in the print.

Rob asked, “When do you need this?”

“Monday or Tuesday,” I answered thoughtlessly but truthfully. I figured to wait until Monday and then start hacking out the other one myself. I knew Rob was going away for the weekend.

Saturday was a pretty good day for me. I got the prototype finished (sample 03) and it tuned right up. All I had to do was spread the coils. Maybe I wasn’t so crazy? It was almost six O’clock and I decided to knock off for the day. I wanted to go out and work in the yard. The phone rang and it was Rob.

Rob: How’s it going?

me (feeling pretty good about what I had struggled to make): Well, I got a 29 MHz BW @ 1.5:1 VSWR.

Rob: What’s your gate code?

This guy I just met pulls into my driveway, rolls down his window and says, “Here. I gotta go; my wife’s p!ss3d…”

He dropped five little brass housings into my palm. Five little brass housings that would have cost me almost a week to build, but did in fact cost Rob (and Mrs. Rob) his Saturday off.

I walked into the house and after a while looked at the housings lined up on the counter. I felt like I had been touched by an angel.

________________________________________________

So, no, I guess I’m not a self made man. I do what I can, knowing it’s not enough, knowing the world wants to cut me, bruise me, see me sweat, smell my fear, taste my tears, cause me to fail, …

… but I have some pretty good friends, you know?

Thanks, Rob, may God bless you.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Social Behavioral Patterns--How to Understand Culture and Behaviors

Understanding behaviors, examining culture, adapting to change, and empowering relationships

Being Rebekah

A journey towards excellence for Christ

TexasReadyBlog

Survival Gardening for the 21st Century

Kimberly A. Vogel

Building bridges | Connecting families | Through LOVE

Tommy Lasorda's World

I've told thousands of baseball stories, and I've got a lot more to share with you. Please join me all year to talk some baseball here on my official MLBlog.

celtic straits

bradstrait.com -- real life stories from a christian mystic

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

One Movie, Our Views

www.onemovieourviews.com - Movie Reviews & More

Earthpages.ca

Think Free

A Business Guy's Guise

I gave up everything only to see that everything would always be right here

Gentlemen of Sport

Analysis of sports, culture, women, & life. We are curious college students & this is the world through our eyes.

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

