Antenna Guru

RF is not 'black magic' – It's Synthesis, Optimization, Analysis and Realization.

The Blind Men and the Elephant, p. 1

You may have heard a version of this parable, maybe not. John Godfrey Saxe concluded his version this way:

So oft in theologic wars,
The disputants, I ween,
Rail on in utter ignorance
Of what each other mean,
And prate about an Elephant
Not one of them has been or seen

I’ll add what Robert Heinlein said:

I never learned from a man who agreed with me.

I have certain beliefs. Other people have theirs. When we differ, I am sometimes prompted to say to myself, “Well, I probably don’t know everything about it, then.” Not always−

When confronted with, for example, “Where’s the Birth Certificate?” I am only and always prompted to say to myself, “Knucklehead!

But there are things you can learn, even from knuckleheads, if you listen carefully. If the blind men had applied this idea to their elephant they still might not have discerned the nature of the elephant, but they would have at least made progress toward understanding its true nature.

So when those people whose religious worldviews are not even wrong show up at my door …

Naw, I still don’t talk to them! But I reflect that there might be a kernel of ‘Truth’ in what they desire to be the truth.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Social Behavioral Patterns--How to Understand Culture and Behaviors

Understanding behaviors, examining culture, adapting to change, and empowering relationships

Being Rebekah

A journey towards excellence for Christ

TexasReadyBlog

Survival Gardening for the 21st Century

Kimberly A. Vogel

Building bridges | Connecting families | Through LOVE

Tommy Lasorda's World

I've told thousands of baseball stories, and I've got a lot more to share with you. Please join me all year to talk some baseball here on my official MLBlog.

celtic straits

bradstrait.com -- real life stories from a christian mystic

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

One Movie, Our Views

www.onemovieourviews.com - Movie Reviews & More

Earthpages.ca

Think Free

A Business Guy's Guise

I gave up everything only to see that everything would always be right here

Gentlemen of Sport

Analysis of sports, culture, women, & life. We are curious college students & this is the world through our eyes.

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

